Dewey’s Readathon 2013 Reading List And Plans For The Read- a- thon

Yesterday , I started thinking about my reading list for the October 2013 Dewey’s Read- a – thon. I have now built up quite a collection of ebooks on my iPad between my iBooks Kindle , and an app from a bookshop.

I read advice from previous Read- a – thons, and plan to be more organised this time , as well as more sociable towards other readers and bloggers.

I already follow the general advice given, about having breaks during the Read-a- thon . For me, these breaks are not a choice but are absolutely necessary, as I suffer a lot of eye strain and headaches due to my eyesight difficulties. They’re also essential to combat the fatigue caused by my cerebral palsy. I really don’t find reading boring, in fact I love it and always have done , but it’s best to be prepared, and I want to get the most out of this Read-a- thon as I can. The advice to move from place to place is also something that goes without saying, as although I spend all day in my wheelchair I do also alternate with lying on my bed to read . Meals are prepared by my fiancรฉ Alfredo , and we’re quite organized about how we spend our days as we have to be due to my care, so organisation isn’t really a problem.

Some ideas I like that I didn’t do last time are : read ebooks broken up by graphic novels
and make a Read- a- thon Timetable so I can better organise my reading and relaxation times.

Here’s my reading list:
Graphic novels – beauty and the beast, and other titles
One Day by David Nicholls ( if.not finished by then)
Tan Lines, a Summer novel by Katherine Applegate
Beach Blondes a Summer novel by Katherine Applegate
Lord of Misrule , The Morganville Vampires book 5 by Rachel Caine
Carpe Corpus The Morganville Vampires book 6 by Rachel Caine
In Too Deep, Hidden Cove #1 by Kathryn Shay
A Chinese wonder book Norman Hinsdale Pittman
Night of the Purple Moon by Scott Cramer
The lion the witch and the wardrobe by CS Lewis
A New York Love Story by Laura Connors.

I’ve tried to make the reading list as varied as possible , and am looking forward to the Read-a – thon.

20131009-191056.jpg

6 thoughts on “Dewey’s Readathon 2013 Reading List And Plans For The Read- a- thon

  1. Was looking at your list feeling supremely ignorant ’cause almost none of those authors sound familiar to me. BUT! at the end there’s C.S. Lewis and I cannot help but wholeheartedly agree. The Chronicles of Narnia is a great readathon choice, because it’s so easy to read and so, so lovely ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hope you enjoy yourself tomorrow. And good luck with your timetable!

  2. hey reader!
    Thanks for the follow & good luck with all your reading tomorrow. I’m a #TeamTiger cheerleader, don’t know who I’m cheering for yet but this is just a quick note to say Luck! I hope the sun shines where you are so you can take a book & chair outside for an hour or two!

    • The sun is shining as I’m in Spain and I’m in a wheelchair so I already have a comfy seat ๐Ÿ™‚ hope you have a great weekend. It’s my 3rd Read-a- thon , md I’ve always been a reader, never on any of the teams , a cheerleader or challenge leader.

  3. oh I like the idea of making a time-schedule. I need to do that too! And same here about the eyes, I am half-blind (well, almost) and can only read with one eye so I gotta be careful and not over-do it. Got a few BBC dramas and readings thrown in and some short stories on my cellphone so i can take a walk and listen ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Hi Jema , thanks for your comment. I am registered blind due to severe visual problems arising from my cerebral palsy and hydrocephalus. Unfortunately, going overboard with reading is common with me as I love it so much. I want to get hold of audio books too, do you know of any websites that I can get them for free ? I’m thinking maybe audiobooks will be easier than ebooks (although the accessibility options are good on the iPad) . Best of luck for the weekend. Do you have a blog / Facebook page? Where are you posting your progress?

Leave a Reply

