My Review: Xmen : The Last Stand

I decided to read Xmen : The Last Stand, which I found in the Sale at a local bookshop, as I’d just seen the film of the same name and wanted to discover for myself whether the hype about Xmen was true. This section, My Review, shows my book reviews along with the synopsis of each book, so when you read my blog , you are able to pick and choose as to whether YOU read the book or not. If you’re anything like me, choosing what to read is always difficult , and so I hope these reviews are helpful to you . Without further ado, here’s the synopsis , and my review, of Xmen: The Last Stand.

TAKE A STAND

The world has acquired a lethal new weapon against X-gene mutants, whose superhuman powers separate them–for better, for worse, forever–from ordinary mortals. Now, for the first time, mutants have a choice: retain their godlike abilities, though their powers may isolate and alienate them, or surrender them and become human. The mutant antibody is called a cure, but its invention may trigger a struggle that destroys every living soul on Earth.

As Magneto declares all-out war against humanity and its dreaded cure, the U.S. president mobilizes the military. But it is Charles Xavier and the X-Men who truly must brace for the ultimate battle, for they alone are powerful enough to determine the outcome.

Lessons of the past are useless in the coming life-and-death conflict, as new players–mutants possessing unprecedented, unearthly skills– take center stage. With so many joining forces with Magneto’s evil Brotherhood, the X-Men will face their ultimate test against an enemy whose forces far outnumber their own.

Now, as the world trembles, the Phoenix slowly rises. . ..

I agree with a lot of what other (Goodreads) readers said about the book being better than the movie, but the movie was still enjoyable and had great special effects. I’m a huge Star Trek : The Next Generation fan, and so think Patrick Stewart, who plays Charles Xavier in the Xmen films, is a great actor. As with a lot of movie novelisations/ adaptations, there’s a lot of detail in this book that was missed in the film – I think this as I read , and own, a lot of movie adaptations . I saw the movie before reading the book which helped bring the book more “to life” for me, although the storyline was good but a lot of it was just as it was in the movie. I’d say this is worth the read if you’ve seen the movie, but not one of the most memorable books I’ve read.. .

20131009-124944.jpg

Leave a Reply

