What I’m Reading : One Day by David Nicholls (2009)

I love books that were later made into a film for the Big Screen. As I write this blogpost, I’m taken back to a day a few years ago, when, whilst browsing through the DVD titles in my local Blockbuster video store (which has now shut down due to lack of demand and the ease of being able to download and watch movies from your Internet) , I came across a DVD which my Mum noticed first and thought might be good. As soon as she read me the synopsis on the back (which I can’t read due to my eyesight) I knew I had to rent it, especially as it starred one of my favourite actresses, Anne Hathaway.
I remember having heard one or two of my carers mention it, but it wasn’t like I’d heard a lot of talk about it. I’m not really the type of person to watch a DVD due to hype , and don’t pay attention to other peoples reviews, but instead prefer to form my own opinions, and I’ll go to see a film if I feel like it’s something I want to see.

I really enjoyed the film , and actually didn’t realise that One Day was a book until I saw it on iBooks and bought it right away. I’ve had it awhile now, and from what I’ve read of it so far (the first three chapters: I started it a few nights ago) I really like it . The film stayed in my memory since I saw it , and I hope the book will too. Here’s the synopsis and I’ll review the book after I’ve read it.

Emma and Dexter meet for the first time on the night of their graduation. Tomorrow they must go their separate ways. So where will they be on this one day next year? And the year after that? And every year that follows?
Twenty years, two people, ONE DAY.

Until the time comes when I can review the book, happy reading to all my blog followers!

20131009-131949.jpg

Leave a Reply

