No Plot No Problem by Chris Baty

After I wrote my first two novels. I was wondering what else to write and had a bit of writer’s block and couldn’t think of a plot: then, I remembered this book and that there was a kindle version so I headed to amazon.co.uk to download it, and within a day I had read the entire thing. This book is a great reassurance for all novelists and authors, both first – time and experienced ones alike. I myself have participated in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) just once, in November 2013. Looking back, I wish I had had this book then. In a day’s time I am going to do camp NaNoWriMo for the second time. This book is really well written with lots of helpful advice and at some point it is also humorous, giving a balanced and well thought out point of view on writing novels. This is the second book I have by Chris Baty, the first one is the Nanoland Chronicles which I bought straight after my last time doing camp. I will keep this book by my side when I am writing my next novel. A must for anyone who has ever thought about writing a novel. Although written in relation to the Office of Letters and Light’s November event, it could also be a great companion to Camp NaNoWriMo. I am very pleased with this purchase! Chris has an easygoing, no- nonsense and easy to understand writing style. It is aimed at people who are doing National Novel Writing Month (NanoWriMo) and could also be useful for those who are doing Camp NanoWriMo, as I will be for the second time this year this coming Tuesday. I can see why some people may see it as odd that Baty’s focus is on QUANTITY not QUALITY in writing, something contradictory to what most of us are told in English classes at school and on most writing websites, but this comes from the fact it is aimed at people participating in either of these annual writing events, where the goal is to pen a novel in 30 days , and therefore the emphasis is on meeting a deadline within a timeframe.
Overall a useful book with good advice and a splash of humour thrown in by the founder of NaNoWriMo. I am glad I bought it.

20140629-222927.jpg

Leave a Reply

