My Review: If Only You Knew by Jacy Arthur

Growing up is not easy, but being born with a disability, namely Cerebral Palsy and deafness, is a million times harder. Jacy Arthur, born in Australia, shares an enjoyable account of her life, from milestones as a baby to family holidays and looking for a job. She has a great sense of humour and a “must try” attitude that shines throughout the book as she chronicles the first twenty years of her life.I, as a person with Cerebral Palsy and Hydrocephalus, found I could immediately identify with some of what she went through, particularly on the education side of things. This is a must-read if you love autobiographies.
The book is written in a very informative, but relaxed and laid-back way that is easy to read. I really enjoyed Jacy’s sense of humour, and how her family pulled together to help her. I loved hearing about her family holidays, and her attention to detail about the places she has been to and the childhood memories she has is amazing, it is this that really draws the reader in to the book. I read this in a few hours after she emailed me it as a book swap, and I could not put it down!
I can’t wait to read the sequel, If Only You Knew Too

20141020-225923.jpg

Leave a Reply

