My Review: Bay of Secrets by Rosanna Ley 

I had never read any books by this author before, and so decided to spend the credit I had for audible on this . The narrator really did a great job of bringing the story to life, and capturing the different accents and elements of the story though that I really felt like I was actually there in the story and experiencing what each character was experiencing.
I really enjoyed what the synopsis sounded like, two parallel stories and Dorset, Barcelona and Fuerteventura as settings. I felt I absolutely had to read this because I love Spain, and also Dorset. The mentions of Chesil Beach, Weymouth and Lyme Regis bought back my own memories of annual childhood holidays to the county with my family, because this was the area of Dorset that we always went to.
I have never regretted buying this book, and loved every minute of it. The characters and setting were all really realistic, and I loved the twists and turns of the plot. I learned quite a lot about Spanish history in my Spanish lessons at secondary school and university, but through this book I learned even more of parts of Spain’s history that I didn’t know about.
I found myself sympathising with Ruby, and being as interested in finding out about her past as she was . I was angry at Laura for what she had done to Ruby. It was lovely to see Ruby’s friendship with Andres grow , but some parts of the book were also very sad.
Bay of Secrets is a very emotional novel, and is one that will stay with you long after you’ve read it. It is the best book I’ve read in a LONG time, and I want to give it more than five stars because I enjoyed it so much , but those are not available, so I will give it five stars  which are very well deserved. I  will definitely be reading more books by Rosanna Ley!

Leave a Reply

